Trauma Survivors Network - provided by ATS

Survive. Connect. Rebuild.

A Program of the ATS

Last Motorcycle Ride

Last Motorcycle Ride
by summerstormz4 on May 05, 2021, 02:34PM

Im trying to push all of my personal walls and boundaries by posting this and having someone other than my friends and family know the details of my accident (I feel as if my entire circle needs a break from hearing about this) I’ll try to not make this as long as the dictionary… I was in a severe motorcycle accident on September 7, 2020. I was riding my Kawasaki Ninja that I had just rebuilt on my own. I was so proud of her and how she purred (Delkevic exhaust) instead of sounding like an throttled-out crotch rocket. I’ve been riding and working on sports bikes for about 25 years and this was my passion and therapy. I was enjoying the most beautiful day ever to ride. I was getting ready maneuver a pretty gnarly curve; one that I had taken by car many times. As I was leaning my bike into the curve, I saw a truck in my lane. There was NO time to even blink. Just that fast-an F150 ran right into me. I remember opening my mouth to scream but do not remember the sound. I remember the sound of bones breaking and that is a sound all unto its own. I heard and felt metal on metal all around me while I was in the middle getting pushed INTO my bike; I smelled gasoline, exhaust and then I remember nothingness. I lost consciousness thankfully. I awoke to voices everywhere, sirens and everything suddenly feeling so busy. I felt sharp pains and either started screaming or was already screaming because this brought a sheriffs officer to my side. I asked him to hold my hand just so I could tell if he was real or if this was a weird nightmare. Sadly, he was very real. Ever notice the looks on people’s faces when they don’t want to directly answer you? Or don’t know how? I repeatedly asked him what had happened and all I kept hearing was “accident” or someone I couldn’t see saying “she can’t be moved or tou