Trauma Survivors Network - provided by ATS

Survive. Connect. Rebuild.

A Program of the ATS

At the wrong place at exactly the wrong time..

At the wrong place at exactly the wrong time..
by Kaytee1584765 on May 05, 2021, 02:35PM

Sept 12th, 2019 I woke up at 5am to go to my gym class at 0520. I went to the class and was coming home to get ready for work and take my daughter to school. I am a nurse and she was a senior in high school. I never made it there. I was a a 1/2 mile from my house on one of my running routes when i was hit at 70+ mph by a truck. When I didn’t come home or answer my phone my daughter went to my parents house and woke up my father. They then retraced my route home and drove up on the accident site. Thank god Ii was already trauma hawked out and they didn’t have to see me. By the time they got to my trauma facility I was already in surgery. I was in surgery for 8 hours and they were told to prepare for the worst because it didn’t look good. I went from surgery to interventional radiology for more procedures to look for more bleeding then to icu. They then had to take me back that night for round two of surgery because I was still having internal bleeding. It wasn’t till day 2 that my trauma surgeon gave my family some hope. I woke up one week later. I was on the ventilator for one week. When i woke up I was told that I almost died, I had 3 surgeries two of which were to just keep me alive and the 3rd was for my leg which i broke both bones. I was unable to talk due to a paralyzed vocal cord and unable to walk due to multiple injuries. My injuries were a traumatic brain injury, fractured left cheek bone. fractured left clavicle,massive internal bleeding, collapsed left lung, bilateral pelvic fractures 4 in total, bilateral sacral fracture which is my butt bone, left tibia/fibula fracture, 2 places in my back were fractured. I received enough blood to replace my entire blood volume 3 times over. I was then told the reason of my crash was becaus