Trauma Survivors Network - provided by ATS

Survive. Connect. Rebuild.

A Program of the ATS

Life disassembled and rearranged

Life disassembled and rearranged
by working dog girl on Oct 05, 2014, 02:47PM

On August 19th of this year on a Tuesday morning heading to work I was involved in a fatal car accident that took the life of the other driver. She hydroplaned and hit me across five lanes of traffic and I am so blessed and fortunate to still be alive and in one piece. She was not so fortunate and passed away at the scene. I am a nurse of almost 20 years and was unable to help this woman in any way due to the fact she was trapped in a demolished car. I had to stand by watching her die until an extraction team arrived. I can say as a health car worker that has been hardest most devastating thing Ive ever had to live with. She was in a dying breathing rhythm when I got to her side of the car and was not suffering, but all my life Ive been doing something to help people and was unable to even hold her hand. Fortunately my physical injuries were minor but mentally its been a challenge ive tried to face bravely and with serenity. But, its very difficult. I have had some significant flashbacks and anxiety.

Reply: Life disassembled and rearranged
by ultra122 on Oct 08, 2014, 08:35PM

I am blown away that you pulled yourself together and made it to her car. I cannot imagine what that was like. I can tell you that I had a nurse stop at my accident scene. She wasn’t able to any nursing because it looked like I was impaled and bleeding out. I don’t remember anything past her getting out of her car. But I remember that it was a comfort seeing her getting out and knowing there was someone there. I know you said that she wasn’t suffering, but maybe she was able to feel the peace that you were near?