Trauma Survivors Network - provided by ATS

Survive. Connect. Rebuild.

A Program of the ATS

Wolverine story

Wolverine story
by Vincehokia on Nov 19, 2017, 03:36PM

I am a certified English teacher who was working in Seoul, South Korea. I was able to help several of my students to get accepted in to schools in the U.S. and even one into a school in London. But my story is about my trip to Arizona with one of my students, who I helped to get into a high school in Arizona. He got accepted into a high school in Arizona and his parents asked me to go there with him. On June 17, 2011, I was driving him to his high school with my younger brother. The speed limit where we were was 45 mph, so I was going 35 mph. Then a U-Haul truck, going the opposite direction at 65 mph, came into my lane and hit us head-on and dragged us and hit 9 or 10 more cars. I learned later that the driver was apparently high on drugs and fell asleep while driving. The roof of my car, a Mazda 626, was crushed on me and my 2 passengers. The police had to use the “jaws-of-life” to peel the roof off our car to bring us to the hospital. My 2 passengers were in the hospital for only 3 days with minor injuries, but I was in for 3 months, I was also in the intensive care unit for 1.5 months and an induced comma for 2 weeks. The doctors implanted titanium into all my broken bones, which included my cranium, left cheek, jaw, left shoulder, ribs and my pelvis, which the doctors told me later, “had so many fractures, it was practically shattered!” After I was released, I had to do physical therapy and due to my “shattered pelvis.” the doctors were estimating my therapy to be at least 1 year. And there was another man with less fractures than me, who had been going there 15 years and still did not walk well. They were amazed that they could release me after just about 5 weeks. Some people were so amazed with the speed of my recovery, the y compared me to Wolverine, form the X-men movies, because of all the ti