Trauma Survivors Network - provided by ATS

Survive. Connect. Rebuild.

A Program of the ATS

Archaeology of a Motorcycle Crash Survivor

Archaeology of a Motorcycle Crash Survivor
by Swifty on Jul 23, 2020, 05:38PM

Before my accident and traumatic brain injury (TBI) I had been an archaeologist which meant that most of the people I worked with had been dead for centuries. For more than a decade I had worked for the Institute of Classical Archaeology at the University of Texas at Austin. I studied and curated hundreds of thousands of archaeological artifacts and wrote scientific and historical publications. Intensely collaborative, I lead teams of researchers, designed research projects, and put together and edited multi-author academic works. I had come to focus my interests on artifacts which to me represented day-to-day material of the past, the average, all of the stuff which was, at the time, unremarkable and of which we now only have fragments, touched by people who we will never know and who were not remembered eternally. Ironically, being remembered was the ancient Greek way to immortality and I fear that the person that I was previously is now, like the times and places that he studied, lost to the past. I do not remember the accident in December 2018 and my longer-term memory only returned to me in the last two weeks of being an inpatient in the brain injury unit at the end of February 2019. It was a few days before Christmas and I was returning home from buying my three-year-old daughter a much-longed-for gift that she had been asking for. I was riding my motorcycle on I-476 in heavy traffic, moving along in the slow lane at around 65 mph and preparing to filter off to the right late and upcoming exit to Broomall. That was when two deer ran out in front of me and I hit one of them. It was rutting season and there were walls along that part of 476 so those poor animals must have been very frantic. Late December and they managed to run into one of the very