Trauma Survivors Network - provided by ATS

Survive. Connect. Rebuild.

A Program of the ATS

April 18th changed my life forever

April 18th changed my life forever
by mark on Dec 17, 2020, 04:45PM

Hello all. This is my first time on the network to share my story. I have read quite a few others’ stories, and therefore would like to add a disclaimer that I in no way intend anything in this to cause further hurt to anyone else here. Most of the stories that I have read are from people who have been hit themselves in a motor vehicle accident….this one will be a little different. Also, sorry for the long read ;-)…I don’t know how to make anything short. April 18th started as a pretty exciting day on the farm. I had just received my brother-in-law and his wife a week or so before, whom I love dearly. They needed to start anew again, and my wife and I desperately needed help on the farm for some pretty huge projects that would have taken us alone very long times to complete. We had just rented a mini excavator to dig trenches to lay new water lines to our indoor grow facility and out to a couple of spots in our field to supply water for animals and some small greenhouses we had just purchased. The goal of all of which was to be able to start making profits from our own land to sustain our family, create jobs for some family members, and most importantly, keep me from having to drive 3+ hours every day for work, plus anywhere from 9-12+ hours of work to bring me home where I could spend more time with my wife, son, and family making an honest living. Not that it’s important, but I have a really good job up in the city working for a Department of Defense agency as a contractor that pays the bills, but not much more right now being a young single income family with a mortgage, car payments, etc. I really fell in love with the job to begin with because it was a way I could serve my country and help to support our war fighters, however I saw how much it was taking away from m