Trauma Survivors Network - provided by ATS

Survive. Connect. Rebuild.

A Program of the ATS

Oxford High School Shooting

Oxford High School Shooting
by Kiley archer on Dec 19, 2022, 06:16PM

November 30th, 2021 Was the day I ran for my life. As the one year anniversary rolls around (in 3 days) I’m ready to share my story. As of then, I was a 14 year old freshman. Many say that day felt “off” or “weird”, to me it felt like any other day that year. As I was waiting in my 4th hour with Summer, my best friend since kindergarten, I was watching the clock tick so we could leave for next hour. We were excited for passing time as any highschooler is. You get to see your friends, chat for a little, do a couple of laps around the school, etc. The things I would’ve done if I never left my 4th hour classroom. The bell rang. Summer and I began to walk to our next hour. We got only a little before we realized our friends ex boyfriend was talking bad about our friend. So like all high schoolers do, we took out our AirPods and tried to listen to the drama the most we could. We couldn’t believe what we were heard, we were in shock. Summer and I chatted for a little bit and we saw kaena ( another friend of ours) Kaena was next to Hana. Hana and I drifted apart from each other that summer. I told kaena to follow us, and we left Hana there. Hana said” I love you, bye” to kaena and we walked away. That will forever be my greatest mistake, leaving Hana there. We filled kaena in with the drama while we turn left into the 200s hallway Little did we know there was a 15 year old boy loading his gun in the bathroom we just passed by. “Bye Kaena!” I said to her as she walked away. Summer and I turned around. We should’ve stayed with kaena but than we heard it. The bullets. The screams. The doors slamming. All of it. I froze. One of the worse things you can do during school shooting, and I did it…. Froze. Left and right, everyone began to yell “ RUN” and “ SHOOTER” so I followed them. I made